Skip to main content

News / Articles

Designer Bookbinders Booker Prize Bindings

Jason Cooper | Published on 12/1/2023

Designer Bookbinders Booker Prize Shortlist Bindings: A Celebration of Craftsmanship and Creativity


The Booker Prize is one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, honouring the best novel written in English and published in the UK or Ireland. Every year, the six authors shortlisted for the prize receive a unique, bespoke edition of their book, created by members of the Designer Bookbinders society1. This year, the shortlist bindings were displayed at the award ceremony on November 3, 2023, and presented to the authors. This years included a book designed and bound by Bind23 presenter Mark Cockram.

The bookbinders have only a short period of time, between the shortlist announcement and the award ceremony, to read, design, and produce their bindings. This year, they had just over a month, from September 6 to October 17, to complete their projects. The process usually takes several months, so the bookbinders have to work under pressure and with creativity.

The Shortlist Bindings of 2023


This year, the six bookbinders who created the shortlist bindings were Tom McEwan, Kate Holland, Mark Cockram, Stephen Conway, Glenn Bartley, and Sue Doggett. They are all Fellows of Designer Bookbinders, which means they have achieved the highest level of excellence and recognition in their craft.

Each bookbinder chose one of the six shortlisted novels and interpreted it in their own way, using various materials, colours, shapes, and symbols. The bindings reflect the themes, characters, settings, and styles of the novels, as well as the bookbinders’ personal responses and artistic visions.

See all the books including some detailed information on the bindings here: Designer Bookbinders Booker Prize

Mark Cochrams Binding for "If I Survive You"